top of page

So you want to write a novel?

Do you have a fantastic story idea for a book (you need an idea first and foremost), but not exactly sure how to start? For my very first blog post (YAY!) I will give some pointers from my own experience, that I hope will benefit you in beginning this incredible journey into storytelling!

Finding your system will make the process of writing a novel much more time efficient. Are you itching to pound out the keyboard and see what flows from your fingertips or are you more inclined to outline and research your novel first? (Sidenote: Regardless of what you are writing, research is a requirement, it's simply a matter of when.) Personally, I like to get to know my characters a little bit and get into the groove of the story before I begin doing too much researching and outlining. Getting connected to the story first also allows me to be more motivated when researching those less than entertaining subjects. I don't feel there is an exact science to beginning a novel, just find what works the best for you personally and gets the novel written.

A big thing I wish I would have done waaaay sooner is had an online presence. I'm talking about more than just a Facebook page (while that is a fantastic start). Twitter is a huge one. Follow other writers in your genre and stay active by posting at least once a week and don't forget to retweet! I also suggest a Goodreads account. You can leave reviews for the books you've read and see what people are saying about other books within your genre. Get active with as many site as possible and there are plenty to choose from. Each platform is a direct line to potential readers and can possibly lead you to valuable connections. It doesn't matter if you want traditionally publish or self-publish. If you want to have people read your book, you must have an audience.

Know your genre. As I am sure you are realizing, knowing what genre your book falls into is pretty important. There are so many sub genres and crossovers that you will probably feel your book lands in multiple categories. Try to fit it as best as possible, This will not only allow you to learn from other books and authors, but also help you understand your target audience better.

Another thing I personally struggled with when I started my first book was continuing to read. Not because I don't love to read, but because all I could think about was writing! So I completely feel you, but if you don't keep reading, I can guarantee your writing will suffer. I suggest reading in and out of your genre because I think that can help with thinking outside of the box. Just trust me on this one. Reading will make you a better writer, and who wants to be mediocre when they can be great?

Keep in mind that there is more than one way to write a book. For me, I start at the beginning and go straight until I hit a bit of a block, then I will just skip to whatever scene is next in my head and bridge them together later. This has actually worked quite wonderfully for me. You may write in jumbled scenes, putting it together like a puzzle later or maybe you prefer to write the end first... Whatever gets the best story possible on the paper.

Probably one of my most important pieces of advice is listen to your characters. I'm sure you will hear me say this a lot, but it's' their story, not yours. If you think of them as people and don't force them to say and do things they wouldn't naturally do, you will be amazed at how beautiful and rewarding the author/character relationship can be if you let them in.

Ultimately, writing a quality novel that connects with readers and effects them is a lot of hard work and you will get frustrated, but don't give up. Do your research, put in the time and work and I promise when you type that last sentence of your novel you will feel something you have never experienced and it's worth every second.

* What did you think of this post? Was it helpful? I would love to hear from you! Thank you for visiting!

Charity B.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page