top of page

"Inferno" By: Yolanda Olson - Book Review

Whoa… I’m not really sure how to review this book. I went into it blind and I really think that’s probably the best way to do it, but I will give a few of my thoughts while trying to keep the main plot out, so this will be short.

What drew me to this was of course, the cover. I instantly wanted it on my shelf. I also really liked the formatting and the writing was so great. The description is fairly vague, but I will say heed the forward which really serves more as a warning and should be taken seriously.

I agreed to be this empty marionette to do his will and now, after all this time, I find myself rejecting the idea, even though it’s too damn late.

I really loved Jocelyn. The book is told primarily from her point of view, except the last chapter. I really felt for this girl and I understood her thoughts and fears. My heart broke for her. It’s rare that I enjoy a female lead as much as I did her.

Pater on the other hand, is among the worst villains that I have read, if not the worst. He was such a sick character and his actions turned my stomach on multiple occasions (which is rarely something that happens). I don’t mind my book boyfriends being a little psycho, but Pater is not book boyfriend material.

“My God. If you only knew how beautiful you are when you just stand there with your mouth shut.”

Truthfully, I like books that are so messed up that you’re left reeling and this book did that for sure. I almost got to the point that I had to put it down for a bit just because it got a little intense to read and definitely tested me. I always thought I didn’t have any hard limits, but there was one specific part toward the end that almost got there for me.

Monstrous acts beget monsters, and we’ll both get what we deserve in the end, but not all of us. I won’t allow it.

It’s a pretty quick read and I flew through this thing. Dark just doesn’t really seem to cover it. I absolutely adored this book for pushing me to my limits and making me feel a little gritty. There is sexual content that is detailed, but it's not meant to be sexy or hot. I’m still recovering from this read. Yolanda Olson is officially a fave author of mine and I will read anything she writes so be prepared for more reviews on her books in the near future.

In a way, I feel like I’m clawing my way out of hell, and to be quite honest, maybe I am. The darkness no longer wants me because I’m no longer pure of heart.

Genre: Horror

Stars: 5

Sexual Content: 3-Explicit

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page