top of page

"Complicated Hearts" (Part 2) By: Ashley Jade - Book Review

Ohhhh the things this book did to me… I loved every second of it even when it made me angry. This series could not be more aptly named either. I was a huge fan of book one and I was dead with that cliffhanger, so I was more than excited for this book and it honestly was perfect in every single way for me. I love all the main characters and felt bad for each of them at some point during the story as well as pissed at each of them during the story, and I love when a book can make me feel that way.

***Disclaimer: If you have not read part 1, this review may contain spoilers***

The story picks up right where book one leaves off with Breslin ready to apologize and commit to Landon only to find him naked with Asher, who she hasn’t seen since he told her he was gay and he cheated on her with her high school nemesis. Seeing Asher again is tough on her and as much as she wants to deny she still feels for him, she does. She just hates him for what he did to her and she wants him to leave.

“Breslin--”

I hold up my hand, cutting him off. “Did you ever really care about me?”

His face twists. “Of course, I did. I love you. I have always loved you. It never went away, and it’snever going to. You were the one that walked away from us, not me.”

I shake my head, because I can’t bear to hear him try to rationalize everything and put his own spin on it when I know the truth. Because I live with the painful reminder every day.

And contrary to what he thinks—I didn’t walk away because I wanted to. I walked away because he ripped us apart with dishonesty and betrayal.

I should have been the first person he went to when he had feelings for anyone other than me. And Kyle should have been the last person he acted those feelings out with.

I raise my chin “I don’t know why you’re here and I don’t care to know. But if you ever really loved me like you claim…you’ll do the right thing and leave Woodside.”

Obviously Asher can’t do that because of the deal to protect his brother, but she doesn’t know about any of that. get little crazy with both Landon and Asher being angry and jealous of the other. When Landon begins to hop between them, he knows something has to change. He doesn’t know what to do. He loves them both and he doesn’t want to hurt either of them. It’s the same with Asher. He loves them both. Breslin though, she can’t get past the pain and anger from what Asher did to her to forgive him. And she doesn’t even know the truth about what went down.

His eyes find mine first. “The other day I had sex with you.”

I blink. This conversation, or rather, this long-winded confession is getting stranger by the second. I thought he invited me here because he made a decision.

Instead he’s spinning me round and round in circles.

He turns to Asher next. “And then I had sex with you.”

I blink again, rapidly this time…and then an inferno slides up my esophagus as I take in his words. Asher’s eyes turn hard and he grips his knee, appearing to be just as angry as I am. “Is there a point to this shit, Landon?”

The low rumble in his voice reverberates through me and I hate it.

Landon’s gaze turns inward. “Yeah. My point is that I don’t want to keep having sex with the both of you unless you’re aware of it.”

This book was perfect for me. I loved the main story and I’ve enjoyed the way Ashley Jade writes through this series. I love that the motives and thoughts of the characters felt real to me. People aren’t perfect, so I prefer the characters in the books I read not be either. It was fast paced and even had some dark themes. Not to mention, the covers on these books are beautiful. I am not a huge fan of spin off series, but I am beyond pumped for Complicated Parts.

“When I left for Europe it was only halfway done but now--” She visibly gulps and I’d give all the pennies in the world for her thoughts right now...because the look on her face tells me she not only heard but understood every lyric of the song I wrote about her and Asher.

“What’s it called?” Her voice is barely above a whisper.

“Complicated Hearts.”

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Stars: 5

Heat Level: 3-Explicit

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page