top of page

“Little Dancer” By: Brianna Hale – Book Review

Four cute and kinky stars! I have read other dd/lg books in the past, and while I find the lifestyle to be incredibly sweet and hot, I have not been able to find a book that portrays it as well as this one does. This has all the hotness of daddy kink while also maintaining a romantic storyline and intriguing plot. If you are not aware of what a daddy dom is, I would definitely suggest informing yourself before starting this one.

Abby loves to dance. Her job at the theatre is the one thing she knows makes her happy and she feels security in. When she misses her cue and the handsome but intimidating theatre owner, Mr. Kingsolver threatens to fire her, she seeks comfort somewhere else. Her mother had changed her room to make it more grown up, boxing up all of her stuffed animals and in her moment of uncertainty, she seeks them out and falls asleep with them.

They are my pillows, my warmth and my comfort. I breathe in their furry softness and close my eyes.

I thought that was a really sweet and subtle way to explain her love for her “stuffies”. Her mother finds her with them the next morning and disapproves, as her parents seem to of a lot of her choices. She is nervous to go to work, but as she’s waiting to go on, Mr. Kingsolver approaches her.

“You’re not going to make any mistakes tonight. Is that clear?”

My throat is too tight to speak. I’m burning up.

“Well?” There’s an edge to his voice. His knuckles push against my throat. Does he know he’s pressing on my windpipe?

I swallow and just manage, “Yes.”

“Yes, what?” His voice is quiet and insistent and demands to be obeyed.

“Yes, Mr. Kingsolver.”

He forces my chin a little higher. He’s standing so close I catch the scent of him, a rich piney scent that makes my knees tremble.

“When you’re out there,” he murmurs, “don’t think about the audience. Think about me. You’re only dancing for me.”

I really loved that exchange. Later though, when she breaks his most important rule, he makes sure that she knows that it’s unacceptable… in an unconventional way. She is confused and aroused and they begin this odd flirting/touching limbo. He leaves her notes when he wants her to some to his office, and one when they are messing around, he drops this little bomb

“Does that feel good, babygirl?” he asks, when I’m whimpering and clutching at him and I can feel I’m close to coming.

“Yes.”

He catches my jaw between his thumb and fingers and squeezes hard. “Say, yes, daddy.”

I stare at him. Yes what?

They begin to explore their relationship together, but it’s not something they can openly talk about and she would be mortified if anyone found out. They’re relationship is really cute and he is so sweet to her. This book had its funny moments to where I found myself actually laughing out loud.

Rufus doesn’t pass me the dishes of vegetables. He serves them for me, and I see from my mother’s expression that when he leaves she’s going to go on and on about his old world charm. I almost want to call him daddy so they’ll know how corrupt he really is.

I really enjoyed how this book explored the emotions of guilt that can come along with having a kink and the way people don’t understand it. I thought it was sweet, extremely hot, and well written. It was a quick and easy read, but I do wish it would have been a bit longer. If there had been a little more build up at the beginning of the relationship it would have been even better. This isn’t a “dark” read by any means, it’s definitely a lot mushier than I would normally read, but with this particular kink, it completely works and I really enjoyed it. I bought this as an e-book, but I am planning on purchasing the paperback copy of this one and will definitely be buying book two this summer.

Did you enjoy this review? I would love to hear from you!

-Charity B.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page