top of page

“Pretty Stolen Dolls” (Pretty Little Dolls #1) By: Ker Dukey and K. Webster - Book Review

I love K. Webster for a reason and I am starting to feel the same way about Ker Dukey. Those two working together really is a dream and it shows in this story. This was a definite five star book from the very first page. They both do dark very well so this was quite disturbing and I devoured every second of it. Unfortunately, this is another one of those stories that I can’t say too terribly much about for fear of spoilers.

Jade has been through unimaginable trauma and abuse that lasted for years. She has spent a large part of her life in fear, but she is determined to stop the man who tortured her. Her childhood dream of being in the police force was only enhanced when she escapes him. It has been eight years since she got away from the man with the dolls. Benny. She is determined to find him and get back what she left behind.

All I care about is finding them

Finding her.

I may have always wanted to be in the police force, but after him, after leaving her, I had to be.

The people closest to her don’t understand her obsession. They feel it’s unhealthy and even get irritated over it. She feels like he is making her crazy, but at the same time she is very sure of herself. I love that about Jade. She does find support in her partner, Dillon. I really like him by the way. He sexy, funny, a bit of a smart ass, and a huge unexpected support for her.

Normally he’d be busting my balls, trying to rile me up, but something changed after this afternoon in the coffee shop.

We became partners.

Two people dedicated to solve an important case together.

An unstoppable duo.

Friends?

There are things happening that make her question her sanity as well as make her fear Benny has come back for her. As she tries to find him and work through her personal emotional struggles, she is also building a relationship with Dillion. She finally has someone to lean on, but still, Benny is always in the forefront of her thoughts.

My body tenses as it follows her finger. At the end sits a boy porcelain doll. Messy brown hair. Overalls. A sad frown on his face.

I know this doll.

Benny.

She continues to speak, but I’m frozen in place, in the sweltering heat of the flea market once again.

I have not begun the next book yet because I didn’t want it to taint my original thoughts, but I bet it will be even more demented than this one, and believe there is some messed up stuff in this book. I can’t think of a character I didn’t enjoy reading and the twists are always the best. If you are familiar with dark reads and enjoy them, you will love this. It’s a creepy and beautiful book and I am so excited for more Benny.

Miss Polly had a dolly who was sick, sick, sick.

So she phoned for the doctor to be quick, quick, quick.

The doctor came with his bag and hat,

And he knocked at the door with a rat-a-tat-tat.

He looked at the dolly and shook his head,

And he said, “Miss Polly, put her straight to bed!”

He wrote on a paper for a pill, pill, pill,

“I’ll be back in the morning, yes I will, will, will.”

Book Link: https://www.amazon.com/Pretty-Stolen-Dolls-kerry-Duke/dp/1537462415/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

Did you enjoy this review? I would love to hear from you!

-Charity B.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page