top of page

“Complicated Hearts” (Book 1) By: Ashley Jade- Book Review

OK wow… This book was everything for me. I have never read an Ashley Jade novel, but this story has made me a fan for life. I usually like very dark, twisted type books, but this was one of kind. I am pretty obsessed with this, so I’ll try to keep out all the fun plot twists and spoilers. No promises.

Breslin grew up in a trailer park with trash for a father. She was made fun of a lot for it, but that all changed when Asher showed up and protected her from a bully. A few days later, he shows up at her house and from that moment on, they are inseparable. Since Asher comes from a conservative and wealthy family, they decide to wait for sex, but by the time senior year rolls around it’s becoming very difficult, especially for Breslin to keep their relationship non sexual. They are nominated prom King and Queen and when she tells him she can’t wait anymore, he mentions having a hotel room. Asher is a jock and a football God. So when they leave for the hotel, there is an awkward exchange between Asher and another teammate, Kyle (the bully from earlier). They have a romantic time together, but after they have sex, Asher begins to cry and admits his confession.

“Breslin…there’s no easy way to say this…but I think…I’m not sure. But I think I might… have feelings that I’m not supposed to.”

I have absolutely no idea what to make of that statement.

“Can you be a little more specific? What kinds of feelings?”

“The kind I can’t tell anyone about. The kind I don’t know how to deal with, because I don’t know what they mean.” His face falls. “The kind that might make me lose you.”

I shake my head, still baffled. “Unless you’re about to tell me you’re a serial killer I’m pretty sure we can deal with whatever it is you’re going through together. So please, before I have a heart attack, tell me what’s going on.”

“I think I might-“ He looks away. “I sort of think I might be gay.”

She does not handle the news well, and plus there is more to it than that. She tells him she never wants to see him again and he is heartbroken. He truly does love her, and he is completely crushed, so he does what he feels like is his best option which puts him in a manipulative relationship for years.

Fast forward four years later and Breslin is college, following her dream, dating an amazing guy named Landon, and living with her best friend. Landon is crazy about Breslin and she likes him a lot too, but is having a hard time letting things get serious because she can’t let go of Asher. Landon doesn’t ask a lot of questions, but he knows she’s been hurt and he hates the guy that did this to her. When the opportunity arises for her to leave the country for a class, she decides this is the perfect opportunity to clear her head. She tells Landon that she wants no attachments and being the awesome guy he is, even though he’s hurt, he loves her and wants to give her space.

“I’ll wait for you,“ I say before I take her mouth again because I can’t help myself.

“Don’t.” Her voice is broken and fragile, defeated. “I don’t want you to wait for me.”

I let out a frustrated sigh. Round and round we go again. “Why?”

“I don’t want any obligations or commitments. Not while I’m in Europe.”

“Bre-“

“No.” She backs away. “We’ll check in when I get home, see where we both stand by then. But you’re free to do what you want. It’s just the way it has to be.”

“What I want is you.”

She leaves and he is heartbroken. Meanwhile things go south for Asher and he finds himself playing football for a less than popular team. His team mates make fun of him and because of his grades, he is forced to get a tutor… which is Landon. While their relationship has a rocky start, they quickly build a friendship. Though, it doesn’t take long for Asher to become smitten with this sexy, smart, musical nerd. He knows his feelings aren’t good though because not only is Asher still in love with Breslin, but Landon is straight and in love with a girl named “B” (who we know is Breslin, but Asher doesn’t.). He wonders if Landon has any feelings for him, but doubts it because of being constantly reminded that Landon’s still hung up on this girl. Still, the more time they spend together, the harder Asher falls.

He opens his eyes again, and this time they’re trained on me. I can feel my Adam’s apple bob against my throat and something inside my chest shifts. The air in the room becomes even more charged with every second that passes between us.

Landon has to know I’m into him, there’s no way he can’t at this point.

But that’s not the cause of my current sweaty palms and racing heart…it’s that fact that maybe…just maybe.

He might be into me too.

While this is happening, Breslin has spent her time in Europe trying to get over Asher. Even though she never achieves that, she does come to the realization that she loves Landon and wants to do everything in her power to make things works with him. Yeah…

Things are going to get complicated.

This book was beyond five stars for me. There were moments I could almost hear Landon’s music and feel the things the characters were feeling. I have never read anything like this before and it has messed with my head. It was so dang hot and heart wrenching at the same time. This is the first book in a two part series and I don’t know how I’ll ever make it to August waiting for the conclusion. The cliffhanger on this thing was epically brutal. If I was ever going to suggest a romance novel, this would be it. The only thing I hated about it was how quickly it ended.

Genre: New Adult Romance

Stars: 5

**Did you enjoy this review? I would love to hear from you.

-Charity B.

Book link: https://www.amazon.com/Complicated-Hearts-Book-Duet/dp/1546910565/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page