top of page

“Stolen Songs” By: Samantha Armstrong - Book Review

I was completely blown away with the fact that this was a debut novel. The writing is beautiful and the story is incredibly sweet. This is the first book in a two part series (as far as I know) and I loved the cliffhanger ending as those happen to be my favorite. It is told in first person POV (which is my favorite also) from our hero and heroine.

Maddison is a foster child living with her foster siblings and terrible foster parents. We meet her as she is breaking into a home on the richer side of town so she can rob them and sell the goods for food. Life hasn’t given her much, but what it has given her, is a talent for music. She plays the cello so beautifully, she was able to get into a prestigious high school and her music teacher and mentor is able to get her an audition to Julliard. Getting into Julliard could change her future and the future of her siblings. Music is all she has besides her siblings and her best friend Cynthia. I loved the music aspect of this book. That was probably one of my favorite things about it. The way Maddison described the way music made her feel was wonderful.

I always wonder if my parents were musicians—if they were placed on a pedestal and tested too.

Whatever the reason, I know it was meant to be.

The first time I played the cello, I fell in love. As soon as I heard the cry of the string, it sounded like a voice – my voice.

Music expresses what I can’t put into words, what I can’t keep silent. It’s something that I know connects me to them, because deep down, I can hear them crying too.”

She is practicing one day and is startled to find she is being watched by none other than Kingsley. He’s not only the most popular and richest boy in school, along with being the lacrosse captain, but he’s also gorgeous. She hates the fact that she is taken by him and tries her hardest to blow him off.

He is a party boy and in a relationship he is forced to be in for the benefit of his father. He is drawn to Maddison before he even sees her. It was her music that pulled him to her. He keeps showing up in the music room while she’s practicing, and as hard as she tries she can’t seem to shake him. She knows they come from completely different worlds. What she doesn’t know is that his life is nowhere near as perfect as it seems.

I really liked Kingsley. Even though he is a little sweeter than I like my book boyfriends, I do feel like he is a wonderful compliment to Maddison. Their stubborn personalities were really cute together.

“I’m not leaving you. I’ll follow you all the way if I have to.”

She laughs. “What so you can fight off the big baddies?”

“If I have to.”

She stops, and crosses her arms over her chest, rolling her eyes. “I’ve done it before.”

I step in towards her. “Oh, I don’t doubt that.”

She narrows her eyes, and shakes her head, but doesn’t say anything.

“And I don’t want you to have to do it again.”

Her head jolts back, and she’s glaring at me. “Why do you even care?”

I’ve been asking myself that question ever since I met you. I smile. “I can’t let anything happen to the next music prodigy. Where will I get my claim to fame?”

The corners of her mouth tug back into a small smile, and she looks away. My heart can’t take it, and I almost trip. “Don’t turn away when you smile.” I touch her chin and pull it back to me.

Much to Maddison’s surprise, she learns that Kingsley in incredible at the piano and the sound they make together is magical. Her music teacher hears them and insists that they play together for her audition. That means practice time together and as hard as she tries to hate him, more time together is not what she wants.

Kingsley tries to take control of his own life which has consequences of their own. Being around Maddison has made him want to make a difference in his life. Over time, she begins to let him in and as she learns more about him, she knows she had him all wrong. His back story is so sad. I really felt bad for the kid. Even though things aren’t easy they find a way to work through it for each other. Things are perfect for just a little while.

She laughs, and I take it in. The sound sends my heartrate soaring. She’s beautiful.

I watch her chest rise, and fall deeply. “I’m going to ask you one last time, Maddison. Are you sure you want to do this?” I don’t know how my voice comes out so sure, but it’s holding onto the thinning strings of whatever dignity is left over.

She pulls my head down to hers, and as she kisses me she says, “I’m positive.”

I smile against her kisses and hike her close. Her body is so warm, and smooth. Her breasts press against my chest and it feels so damn good.

“I trust you,” she whispers.

When things begin to spiral out of control and the truth comes out, their relationship is threatened more than ever before. They are both struggling with their own personal issues and what happened between them. Sometimes though, love isn’t always enough.

As I look up, the memory if her fooling around in the water, of me holding her close, plays in front of my eyes. I hear the sound of her voice. Her laugh. Her songs. The songs that I stole.

There are a few drug triggers in this book, but other than that it’s fairly mild. I am definitely reading the second installment of this because I have to see what happens. I’m not super familiar with new adult and contemporary romance as I tend to lean toward dark romance, but I had a wonderful time with this. I am so excited to see what else this author has in store.

Genre: New Adult Romance

Stars: 4

*** Did you enjoy this review? I would love to hear from you.

-Charity B.

Book Link: https://www.amazon.com/Stolen-Songs-Samantha-Armstrong-ebook/dp/B072W7CQ5X

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page