top of page

“Touched By Death” By: T. L. Martin - Book Review

I was excited to read this one because it’s been awhile since I’ve dived into a paranormal romance and I was absolutely not disappointed. I loved this book. It was really the whole package for me. The cover is so pretty and I while I very much enjoyed the writing style, it was the flawless delivery of the story that made it so enchanting.

Lou Adaire has already lost both of her parents, so when her Grandmother passes she decides to make a change and get away for a while. Her Grams was very secretive about her past and Lou has a curious nature so she decides to go back to Ashwick, the town her Grandmother lived before she was born. On the way, a storm causes her to get into a crash that results in her car going off a bridge and falling into the lake. As she falls deeper into the water, getting back to the surface becomes impossible. When things go black and she sees a figure in the water, she isn’t sure what it is… What he is.

The edges of his large frame are blurred, almost convincing enough to be a dream. Still, I know the truth.

I’m dying . . . if I’m not already dead.

I can feel my life wasting away with each second, disconnecting me from my frozen heart. Something’s tugging at me, calling my name. A magnetic force trying to yank me away from my body.

The closer he gets, the stronger the pull.

This was the part when I really started to fall in love with the book. I absolutely adored the way the author described that entire experience.

After getting out of the hospital, Lou finds a gorgeous Inn to stay at while in town. She makes quick friends with Claire, the perkiest desk clerk you’ve ever seen. (I really liked her character). As Lou gets settled into her new place at the Inn, she begins feel something, or rather, someone in the room with her, and while she should be scared, instead she is comforted.

It’s so quiet, I can hear my own inhales and exhales. Each breath a soft pull and whoosh, a smooth and steady stream of air. Until it’s not, and I hear a different rhythm. It’s quieter, but there’s a roughness to it. It’s deep and controlled, and it doesn’t match the rise and fall of my chest. In fact, it doesn’t seem like me at all.

My eyes snap open.

Steam clouds the small bathroom, but I can see there’s no one here but me. Still, I feel it. I feel a presence, a warmth on my skin, and I hear it in the air like a painter’s brush stroking its canvas.

The encounters between her and him become more intense as the book and each one is so wonderful. The hero character who is essentially death, was beyond perfect and I loved him so much. The way he is introduced and then brought into the story was fantastic.

When Lou gets a job as the caretaker for a rich shut in, she begins to realize he might be able to give her answers about her Grams. What she ends up learning is much worse than she could have fathomed. As she gets closer to Death and her feelings deepen, they both begin to change in terrifying ways and they are both determined to protect each other.

“Your world,” I say quickly, remembering what happened with my hand. “I think I felt it—”

“Where I come from,” he growls, the strong reaction taking me by surprise, “is not someplace you will ever know. Do you understand?”

I swallow the lump in my throat. He looks impossibly threatening for someone lounging in a loveseat. “You’re learning everything about me and my world firsthand. It only makes sense I’d want to know a little bit about yours. About the person who’s stuck inside my room with me. I should get to know something about you, shouldn’t I? What it’s like being you?”

At that, he turns his gaze to the window, letting the silence build. When he responds, it’s quiet. Low. Dangerous. “You shouldn’t ask questions you don’t really want the answer to.”

There is so much I want to say about this book, but I don’t want to ruin it for anyone. I really didn’t even scratch the surface of what happens. Not only is the love story incredible, but the way the little tidbits of information slowly came together made it so fun to read. There is some dark stuff in here which of course I love, as well as a couple of steamy scenes. The characters, plot, writing style, cover, and delivery were all spot on for me. I know of one other book by this author which I will definitely be checking out.

And I know I will follow him anywhere.

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Stars: 5

*** Did you enjoy this review? I would love to hear from you.

-Charity B.

Book Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35505463-touched-by-death

(Expected publication date: September 30 2017)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page