top of page

The Beauty of Beta Readers

I will be the first to say, there's no way I would be as far as I am without the help of my beta readers. They are one of the most important parts in the self-publishing process. They give me confidence in my writing as well as shedding light on areas that I may need to improve. While they may only be reading a single book, their feedback has tremendously helped me be a better writer.

What is a beta reader?

A beta reader is someone, usually unpaid, who reads through your writing and gives you their thoughts. A good beta reader will give you their honest opinions on what they did and did not like about the book along with inconsistencies a plot holes. This gives you insight into the mind of readers before you publish your book, usually while editing. As writers, especially fiction writers, we are way too close to our characters and story. Beta readers are fresh eyes from the outside looking in, allowing you to see it in a different light. This is invaluable information that can take your book from good to great.

Where do I find one?

This is the tricky part, because while having your friends and family read it is important, you also need the feedback of complete strangers. The people close to you don't want to hurt you and want to supportive, so they are naturally more likely to sugar coat their feelings where strangers are not. On the flip side, friends and family will be your biggest support system and having that is also a necessity. There are boards on Goodreads where you can post your needs for readers and there are also Facebook pages where you can connect with people willing to beta read.

What if I get negative feedback?

Then thank your beta reader profusely for being honest. Most people don't want to tell you what they don't like, leaving you completely unaware of a possible major flaw in your writing. By finding out these things now, you are able to fix them before sharing it with the world. It's upsetting to me when I hear of an author getting angry at their beta for their feedback. Don't be that person. They are helping you out for free, not the other way around. It may be tough to hear, but it will also give you insight.

I'm not hearing back from my beta readers. What do I do?

Unfortunately, this happens a lot. And to be frank, a good beta reader can be difficult to find. It's easy to assume they hate it and don't want to tell you, but at least half of the time, they haven't picked it up at all. People want to be supportive, but I think life gets in the way and a lot of time they just don't realize how stressful it is sharing your work. If this happens, remind them a couple of times and if they still haven't gotten back, just move on and find someone else. I personally have had a lot of luck beta swapping (It's done on Goodreads frequently). This is when you beta read for another author while they beta for you. This is great because they know what they want from betas so they will most likely give that to you.

How long should I give my readers to get back with me?

This is really up to you. I personally go with thirty days. Make sure you give them enough time so they don't feel rushed. You want them to enjoy the book and give the best feedback. Too much time, and it may push you back on your publishing schedule. Pick a fair time and stick to it.

I'm worried about Copyright infringement. How do I protect myself?

Unless you are an established author this is unlikely. Most beta readers are just people who love books and want to help bring more beautiful stories into the world. If you want to be cautious, the best way I know of is to give every reader a copy with a different intended typo. That way if it does get stolen, you will know the culprit and take appropriate legal action. Again though, this is highly unlikely.

Remember that you are the author and you can't take every suggestion into account. When you get feedback from a reader, take what you feel works and leave what doesn't. Let your beta readers know you appreciate them no matter how you obtained them.

Tips:

  • To avoid the responses of “It was good.” Write out a questionnaire of things you would like to know.

  • Find as many readers as possible for a larger spectrum of feedback.

  • If coming across a beta reader you would like to use again in the future, ask if you may retain their information for future works.

*** I hope you enjoyed this post

-Charity B.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page