top of page

Sweet Treats Series Update

I have been a busy bee lately and I apologize for being M.I.A. the last few weeks, but it's been for good reason! I see other authors pumping out book after book and I feel like I am taking so long to get these out. On the other hand, Candy Coated Chaos will be my debut and I want it as well as the next two books to be the best they can be. Not only that, but I also wanted to make sure each book was released within a few months of other. It's finally setting in that this is a reality and I am getting so excited!

Production Update

Ok, so book 1, Candy Coated Chaos, has been through it's first round of editing and will be sent in for the final round this weekend. It is scheduled to go into formatting halfway through September. I'm really excited about my formatter because she did a couple of my favorite K. Webster books and they were beautiful (Pretty Little Dolls Series, Dirty Ugly Toy, Mad Sea, and a ton more). The cover is also booked with the designer, and should be finished by the end of November. At this point I am hoping to have a release date of February 15th 2018.

The cover design for book 2, Sweetened Suffering, is also scheduled and is in its final stages before being sent to the editor. The estimated release date is April 22nd 2018.

Book 3, Cupcakes and Crooked Spoons, is the final book in the series and the prequel to Candy Coated Chaos. The cover design is scheduled and I am also in the final stages in getting it prepared for the editor. If all things going according to plan the release date for this will be June 11th 2018.

On a personal note:

I am really excited and nervous about this series because while I know it isn't for everyone, I do think there are those who will connect to it and be able to relate to it. My goal from the beginning, was to write a story that would effect the reader on a personal level and I feel as if I accomplished that with this series.

Fun fact about the release dates:

Candy is clearly an important part of this story so I wanted to incorporate that in my release dates. There is a holiday for some type of candy or treat in every single month of the year, so I had a fairly good list to choose from. Even if something keeps these dates from happening I have a few others to work with.

February 15th- National Gumdrop Day

April 22nd- National Jellybean Day

June 11th- National Cotton Candy Day * PLUS June is National Candy Month!

Publishing Company:

Since I will be self-publishing, it is necessary to have a publishing business. I named mine Broken Spine Press (Get it? Like spine of a book.... I have a thing for puns.). The website is technically up, but there's nothing on it yet. When I do have it going it will be mainly focused on the books and in the future, merchandise.

Trial and Error:

This is my first time around self-publishing so I'm kind of teaching myself as I go. I plan to publish through Createspace on Amazon as well as through Barnes and Noble and possibly Smashwords. More updates on those later. I have my ISBN numbers and know I need to set up author accounts on Goodreads and Amazon. I am open open to any tips or suggestions so if you have any, don't be afraid to send them my way!

Giveaways:

I plan on doing a few giveaways as it gets closer to the release dates so keep an eye out for that. Especially if it's a candy holiday.

I can;t wait to be able to share this story with you and until then:

Thanks for reading!

-Charity B.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page