top of page

10 Reasons Halloween is the Best Holiday

Just a warning, this post has nothing to do with books or writing, just my obsession with Halloween. Halloween wasn’t a huge deal in my house growing up, but I’ve always loved it so now that I’m grown, it's now the biggest holiday for me. In my excitement, I decided to do a Halloween giveaway on my Facebook page. I asked people what their favorite thing about the holiday was and it got me so pumped, I decided to make a Halloween post and list the top 10 things that make Halloween the best holiday.

10. Pumpkins.

I’m all about the pumpkins. They are so delicious and smell amazing. I love everything from lattes to pie, candles to car fresheners. Even the seeds are yummy. While I haven’t been able to have much of a successful Jack-o-lantern in the past, I find the process of it to be so fun.

9. The Weather

It's usually lovely this time of year (depending on where you live), while there’s usually a bit of nip in the air, it’s not frigid. Besides, who doesn't love busting out those cute sweaters? The colors of the falling leaves are beautiful and it smells fantastic.

8. Stress-free holiday.

Don’t get me wrong, even though Christmas absolutely has its charm, it's so stressful shopping for gifts and making sure you are able to spend the holidays with everyone. Halloween has none of that. It’s more of a ‘friend’ holiday as opposed to a family so there isn’t as much pressure to fit it all it. Plus, it’s celebrated at night, so most people are able to enjoy the holiday regardless of work schedule.

7. Killer style.

Every other time of the year, if you wear black, skulls, or anything creepy, you’re “goth” or “emo”, but during Halloween, you’re in the holiday spirit.

6. Movies.

Some of the best movies ever made are Halloween movies. Hocus Pocus, Nightmare Before Christmas, all the horror classics, I could go on. I love binging on Halloween movies all through the month of October.

5. Awesome history.

The idea of dressing up on Samhain was to protect the living from the dead. The veil is considered to be at its thinnest on this night and putting on costumes would blend people and monsters together. Also, the fact that trick-or-treaters used to be called “Soulers” is freaking awesome and I vote the term gets put back into use.

4. Little smiles.

The infectious joy in children is a favorite part for me. While I’ll admit, I didn’t really appreciate this until I had my own child, the excitement is so apparent in all their faces when you ask about their costumes or bring up trick-or-treating. It's just so sweet and adorable.

3. Costumes.

If you want to be a unicorn princess, be a unicorn princess. Nobody will bat an eye. In fact, they may even comment on your creativity. It’s fun to see ourselves as someone else, and for one night we get to do it without ridicule.

2. Being scared.

It's fun when the threat isn’t real. That’s the beauty of Halloween. There’s no malice or danger behind it. The adrenaline rush is the fun part and you know you will remain safe once it’s all over.

1. Candy.

People give away free candy. This alone makes it the best holiday in my book. Now that I’m older, my child has become the middle man, but still, FREE CANDY.

I hope everyone has a fun and safe Halloween 2017!

-Charity B.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Goodreads-Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page